Who is Zakah Paid to?

There are 8 categories mentioned in the Qur’an in Surah Tawba. They are:

  1. The poor- those who don’t have enough money, food, clothing and shelter.
  2. The needy- similar to the poor.
  3. Those who collect funding- zakah is given to them for the work they do in collecting, keeping records and distributing of zakah on behalf of the Muslim authorities.
  4. Those whose hearts have been inclined towards Islam- such New Muslims whose iman might still be weak.
  5. Muslim slaves- use zakah to free them.
  6. Those in debt.
  7. For Allah’s cause (Mujahidun)- those fighting for Allah’s pleasure (Jihad).
  8. The wayfarer- the traveller who has been cut off from everything.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s