The 5 Pillars of Islam

five pillars of IslamThe five pillars are the five basic duties of a Muslim. If a Muslim ignores one of them, they cannot consider themselves to be a true Muslim any more.

They called the ‘pillars’ of Islam because pillars give a building strength and stop it from collapsing. A Muslim’s faith is like a building: without pillars and strong foundations, it would collapse. Obedience to these pillars keep a Muslim true to his/her religion.

The five pillars are:

  1. Shahadah
  2. Salah
  3. Sawm
  4. Zakah
  5. Hajj

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s